Author Topic: Sky HD box - Pin Code  (Read 102 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Turnip

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3393
    • Email
Sky HD box - Pin Code
« on: December 07, 2018,12:30:22 »
Hi folks,

Have an elderly customer with a Sky HD box but no internet.

He's signed up but can't view certain programmes as his Pin Code seems to be in error.

Sky have confirmed his code - Last 4 digits - but seems incorrect.

Guess he could have never changed his Pin Code as has never been on line.

Thought there might be a code for this issue - Seems not - Any thoughts ? - Chris.

Mulja tv repair portal

Sky HD box - Pin Code
« on: December 07, 2018,12:30:22 »

astracat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2018,16:31:59 »
hi turnip
last 4 numbers of sky account is the norm to change the pin only other way internet needed see this https://www.sky.com/help/diagnostics/your-sky-tv-pin/sky-plus-reset-pin-with-remote if no internet then sky would have to do it but only problem with that is sky send signal via internet you could try to update the sky box on some one elses internet ie some one who also has a dish on the home
good luck
astracat

Turnip

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3393
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2018,11:37:15 »
Hi 'Cat'

Nice one, much as I thought. Guess have to bring the box home and try sort over the internet, though being me and not him might give identity issues.

I had just hoped for a default code - Guess there is one, but no one cares mention.

Recall a Christmas a while ago with a Freeview box. Having several days free I started with 0001 and worked my way up to three thousand and a bit where it eventually clicked in. Daft possibly, but chuffed when sorted.

Wonder if the SKY HD needs direct connection or is Wi-Fi enabled. Gather its old stuff and 'Q' is now the biz - Chris.

Mulja tv repair portal

Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2018,11:37:15 »

astracat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2018,18:06:42 »
hi turnip
no such over ride code on these boxes could see if he has an old card for the box if so try last 4 digits on that card if it says wifi on box then yes ,otherwise its a cable to router .these can be updated via the dish but it still keeps the code .trying 0001 to 9999 will take forever and makes for sore fingers 
use to install these before retirement
good luck
regards
astracat

ps could ask for another box already coded to card

Turnip

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3393
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2018,11:02:35 »
Hi 'Cat',

Wouldn't mind 0000 to 9999 but you have take a ten minute break after a few tries. Hadn't thought check card digits for some reason. Elsewise will bring it back to the ranch and fiddle on line. Hate boxes if not the unplug and wait ten minutes biz.

Thanks again. Note you're retired but still can't give it up - Good on you, happy Crimble - Chris.

astracat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2018,13:53:19 »
hi turnip
happy crimble  to you and every one else .  keeping going to stop old grey matter disappearing -haha
regards
astracat

Mulja tv repair portal

Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2018,13:53:19 »

sinclairtv

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2018,16:34:57 »
You could always request a new card then connect to phone line and do new install. Tell them the card is faulty or something

astracat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2018,16:44:37 »
hi
nice  one ,forgot about going down that ,grey matter must be crumbling slowly
have a nice crimble
regards astracat

Turnip

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3393
    • Email
Re: Sky HD box - Pin Code
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2018,13:16:33 »
Hi 'Cat'

Called today to take the box away and try sort on the interweb.

Seems customer had written to Sky where they sorted the original code via a dish download.

Guess as cust had no internet, his code had become someway corrupted.

Not so surprised, but glad not needing try sort it.

Think mention that the cust - 94 - Flew over Germany and dropped 'Window' before we sorted a rather fine town.

Suspect 'Slaughter House Five' covers it.

 

Powered by EzPortal
download